The composition of the joint consultation bodies at Aalborg University

Published: 08.01.2018 (Last revised: 17.02.2020) Print as pdf

På dansk

Content

Parties to the agreement

This agreement was made between the A-side and the B-side of the Main Joint Consultation Committee (HSU) at Aalborg University.

Basis of the agreement

Cooperation between the management and staff at Aalborg University is based on Circular on the Agreement regarding Cooperation and Joint Consultation Committees in the State the cooperation agreement in force at any time [1].

§1. Objective

The objective of this agreement is to ensure that the joint consultation bodies at Aalborg University are organised in a way that fosters an environment of cooperation between the management and staff. In addition, the agreement shall ensure transparent and uniform conditions for the composition of the consultation bodies at Aalborg University.

§2. The structure of the joint consultation bodies at Aalborg University

(1). Main Joint Consultation Committee

One Main Joint Consultation Committee (HSU) for Aalborg University shall be established, cf. section 7 in the Cooperation Agreement.

The Main Joint Consultation Committee comprises:

The Management (A-side):

- The Rector
- The Dean of The Faculty of Humanities
- The Dean of The Faculty of Social Sciences
- The Dean of The Faculty of Medicine
- The Dean of The Faculty of Engineering and Science
- The University Director (AAU Shared Services)
- The Managing Director of the Danish Building Research Institute.

Staff unions representatives (B-side):

• 1 representative appointed by the unions of the academic staff from each faculty and the Danish Building Research Institute (5 representatives in total)

- 1 representative appointed by the unions of the academic administrative staff
- 1 representative appointed by the unions of the clerical staff/laboratory staff
- 1 representative appointed by the unions of the workmen, semi-skilled workers and cleaning staff
- 1 representative appointed by the rest of the unions at Aalborg University.

(2). Additional joint consultation committees

One joint consultation committee for each of the six main areas shall be established: The Faculty of Humanities, the Faculty of Social Sciences, the Faculty of Engineering and Science, the Faculty of Medicine, the Danish Building Research Institute and AAU Shared Services.

In addition, all units (departments, sections etc) with an independent management function and at least 25 staff members shall establish a joint consultation committee. The number of committee members and the distribution of these between the A-side and the B-side shall be decided locally by the local management and the relevant staff unions with collective-bargaining rights.

Units of less than 25 staff members may establish a joint consultation committee by local agreement. All units must adhere to the principles of the Circular on the Agreement regarding Cooperation and Joint Consultation Committees in the State, including units for which no local joint consultation committee has been established.

A joint consultation committee at AAU represents an entire organisational unit, even when a unit is dispersed over different physical locations, including at the three campuses. Therefore, all joint consultation committees should consider a suitable way of handling the issue of geographical dispersion.

§ 3. Duties and responsibilities of the joint consultation committees

The tasks of the consultation committees are listed in the Circular on the Agreement regarding Cooperation and Joint Consultation Committees in the State .

§ 4. Coherence between the joint consultation committees at the three levels

The joint consultation committees shall inform the joint consultation committee at the immediate superior or inferior level about issues of interest for the level in question, and of any issues which should be considered at the level in question. Coherence and communication between the levels are essential.

§ 5. Permanent subcommittees under the Main Joint Consultation Committee

(1). Staff Policy Committee

The Staff Policy Committee (PPU) is a permanent subcommittee under the Main Joint Consultation Committee. The Main Joint Consultation Committee chairperson or another person appointed by the Rector shall be chair of the committee. Together with the chairpersonship of the Main Joint Consultation Committee, the chair of the Staff Policy Committee will determine the composition of the Staff Policy Committee.

The Staff Policy Committee shall be instrumental in ensuring that the AAU staff policy is being currently developed and updated so as to actively support AAU's values, objectives and strategy.

(2). Gender equality committee

The Gender Equality Committee (LU) is a permanent subcommittee appointed by the Main Joint Consultation Committee. The Gender Equality Committee shall be composed of representatives from the University faculties, a representative of the technical-administrative staff and the HR Manager. Each faculty shall elect their own representative. The aim is that both men and women, as well as the A-side and the B-side, should be represented on the Committee. A chairperson shall be appointed by the Main Joint Consultation Committee in consultation with the Gender Equality Committee.

The Gender Equality Committee shall contribute to the continuous focus on gender equality efforts at AAU.

§ 6. Local agreements on the adjusted organisation of efforts relating to the working environment

The joint consultation committee and the working environment committee at the same level may decide to merge these two committees for the purpose of enhancing working environment efforts.

When two committees are merged, a written agreement shall be drawn up, describing the enhancement of the working environment ensured by this organisational change.[2]

All representatives in a merged committee shall receive an offer to attend the statutory working environment course. [3]

§ 7. Previous agreements on joint consultation committees and termination of agreements

This agreement replaces the previous agreements applying to this area.

(2).

This agreement may be terminated by either party at three months' notice. Before termination, the Main Joint Consultation Committee shall make an effort to adjust the previous agreement in a manner which is satisfactory to the parties of the Main Joint Consultation Committee.

Origin, background and history

Staff policy agreement 2.02. The agreement was discussed and conditionally adopted at the Main Joint Consultation Committee (HSU) meeting on 28 January 2015. The agreement was signed and came into force: 8 June 2015

^[1] At present, the 2013 Cooperation Agreement. Circular on the Agreement regarding Cooperation and Joint Consultation Committees in the State (27 August 2013).

^[2] Cf. the Executive Order on Cooperation on Safety and Health No. 1181 of 15 October 2010, chapter 4.

^[3] Ibid., section 8.

Contact and responsibility

For more information contact HSU-sekretatiatet.